I am Me

Scribbles from me to you

I am the incubator that preserved my life
I am my father’s hand holding me up to the camera
I am the girl who went before me, whose name I was given
I am the dart stuck in my mother’s hand
I am the swallowing sea defeated three times.

I am the curlews singing among the bog cotton
I am the sun shining on sweating backs
I am the sound of wet turf slapping into waiting arms
I am the ant hills found no matter how long is spent avoiding them
I am the stars seen lying back on the mudguard of a tractor

I am the scrabbling in hard frozen soil for food and pay
I am the water sloshing from bucket to freezing legs on the uphill walk
I am the turf smoke curling blue around the room
I am the tilley lamp and the davy lamp burning…

View original post 183 more words

2 thoughts on “I am Me

  1. I AM THE SOUND OF THE WET TURF SLAPPING INTO THE WAITING ARMS , THATS SOME WORDS , BRILLIANT I HEAR THIS SOUND.

    Like

Leave a Reply

